Favourite Book Covers

“Never judge a book by its cover!”
But let’s face it, many of us do.

I think that the cover of a book gives a feel for the story, and having a nicer cover makes for a more enjoyable read. I think that’s because when I look at a pretty book sitting on my shelf, it makes me more excited to read it, so I tend to be more excited when I actually pick it up, which makes me enjoy it more.

Here are some of my favourite book covers…

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
– The colours and feel this cover gives off matches the book so beautifully. It is such a magical cover.
the night circus

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
– This cover reminds me of Christmas. I love the edge of mystery it gives with the partially open door and the handprint. It provides you with questions before you have even read the synopsis or opened the book.
dosab

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
– When I first saw this cover I thought that she just had a ladder in her tights! I only realised when I bought the book that it was her cyborg features, which is totally, much, much cooler haha!
cinder

The Magician’s Lie by Greer Macallister
– This book cover reminds me of the circus. I think the red dress looks a bit like red curtains, like on a stage.
the magicians lie

(Is there a black and red theme going on here?)

A Darker Shade of Magic (and yet to be released sequel) by V. E Schwab
– I own the British cover for ADSOM but I love the US versions much more. I like the way they look a bit like movie posters.
A Darker Shade final for IreneA Gathering of Shadows Final

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
– I love the sideways title and font.
the winners curse

Basis and Josephine by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
– I love the Alma Classics collection of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s books. They are all so pretty, but this is probably my favourite of the ones I own.
baj

What are some of your favourite book covers?

Leave a Reply

