Most Anticipated Book Releases – Autumn 2015

Autumn is fast approaching. That means jumpers, scarves, wrapping up in a warm coat, darker nights, excuses for hot chocolate, reading wrapped up in a blanket – basically everything I love. Autumn is by far my favourite season, and to make it even better, there are some really great books coming out in the next few months. I thought I would narrow down the ones I am most excited about; my top 3 – the ones I have been waiting for for far too long! Two of the three are sequels, so I suggest reading up on the first book for an overview of the plot, but I have not included any spoilers, so don’t worry about reading my excited ramblings!

23848145
Queen of ShadowsΒ – Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: 1st September

Book 4 in the Throne of Glass series – one of my all-time favourite series at the moment. I have been eagerly awaiting this release by re-reading the previous books. I’m currently on Heir of Fire (book 3), and a book discussion will be up before Queen of Shadows is released. (At least that’s the plan!) In fact, I might go as far as to say that this is my favourite series at the moment. It’s just so good! And after the intense and emotional Heir of Fire, I cannot wait to see what Sarah J. Maas has in store for Celaena, Chaol, Dorian, Rowan, Aedion and the rest of the characters, in this instalment.

23437156
Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo
Release Date: 29th September

This is the first book in a new series/trilogy/duology (I’m not really sure) by Leigh Bardugo – author of the Grisha trilogy. It’s set in the same world as her previous books (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising), but will follow a whole new band of characters. I love the tag lines for the characters…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.
A runaway with a privileged past.
A spy known as the Wraith.
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.
Six dangerous outcasts. One impossible heist. Kaz’s crew is the only thing that might stand between the world and destructionβ€”if they don’t kill each other first.

Reading the little sneak-peaks on the Facebook page has got me even more excited about this book recently too. And it’s a heist story! After reading Mistborn, I am obsessed with the idea of heist stories!
Grisha world + new characters + Leigh Bardugo’s beautiful writing = EXCITEMENT!

13206900
Winter – Marissa Meyer
Release Date: 10th November

The final instalment in the Lunar Chronicles; a series of sci-fi fairytale retellings. This will be a Snow White retelling, though like the previous books I can’t wait to see how all of the characters’ stories are interwoven.
The most recent book, Cress, felt like a kind of fairytale Avengers – and that’s now how I pitch this series to people. It’s full of action, romance, mystery, and is just cool! The release date for Winter was pushed back (because of the release of Fairest – which was also amazing) and it’s now been such a long wait, that I am ridiculously excited for this book! I think I might re-read the other books in the lead up to the release date, and post discussion posts on each book, as I have done with the Throne of Glass series.

So those are the three books I’m most looking forward to this season.
What new releases are you eagerly waiting to get your hands on in the next few months?

17 thoughts on “Most Anticipated Book Releases – Autumn 2015

Leave a Reply

