Books I’m Taking To Uni

12032534_1079372032073541_362071663_n

I start Uni in less than two weeks, (aghhh!) and the packing has begun. Of course, one of the first things this consisted of was deciding which books I would be taking with me!

On average, I read 4-5 books a month, and I will be at Uni for two and a half months until I come home. So working with 4 books a month, I have chosen 10 to take. I’m pretty certain I will buy more when I am there, but just in case, this is what will be keeping me going for the next two and a half months…

  • The Miniaturist – Jessie Burton
    – I have had this book for a while now, and have started and put it down a couple of times. But it is one of the books I aim to finally read and finish before the year is over. I have heard so many great things about it, and it sounds like the sort of book I would love.
  • This Side of Paradise – F. Scott Fitzgerald
    – Fitzgerald is one of the few classic authors that I really enjoy reading. So I will be saving this for a time where I need a good classic!
  • Isla and the Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins
    – The third and final book in the Anna/Lola/Isla companion trilogy. Stephanie Perkins writes stories that just make me happy. They are easy to read, romantic, light and have those happily-ever-afters; probably what I’m going to be needing during freshers!
  • Just One Year – Gayle Forman
    – I recently read Just One Day, and it has become one of my all-time favourite books. I LOVED it. (I have a review of Just One Day too, if you want to check it out). Just One Year is the story from the guy’s perspective, which I am really excited for. I love romantic stories from a male perspective, so this is one I cannot wait to get into.
  • Belle Epoque – Elizabeth Ross
    – I haven’t heard much about this book, so in terms of opinions, I am going into this book quite blind. But the story itself sounds great. It follows a girl in Paris who, in need of some money, signs up for a job, only to find out afterwards that it involves ‘ugly women’ being hired to stand next to wealthy people to make the upper class women look more beautiful. It sounds like it is going to be quite a moving and sweet read.
  • A Thousand Pieces of You – Claudia Gray
    – Because I have not read enough sci-fi lately, and I need some in my life.
  • Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge
    – I am aware that this book has VERY mixed reviews. I think it is going to be a love-it-or-hate-it book. But fairytale retellings are one of my favourite things to read at the moment, so I feel it is certainly worth a try.
  • Rook – Sharon Cameron
    – This book sounds really cool! It includes a sunken Paris, rebels and romance; I’m sold! And it’s a standalone, so no worrying about having to find money to pay for sequels.
  • Uprooted – Naomi Novik
    – I have heard nothing but amazing things about this book. Another standalone, and some fantasy to satisfy my fantasy cravings, when I am having them! I recently read that the main characters are quite like Howl and Sophie (from Howl’s Moving Castle) – so I am very intrigued to read this book!
  • The Hero of Ages – Brandon Sanderson
    – I had initially planned to finish the Mistborn trilogy over the Summer – but The Well of Ascension took me nearly ten weeks to finish, so that didn’t happen. Oops! But it shall be completed before the year is up! I promise!

There are also some great books coming out in the next few months, and sequels I am planning on buying soon, so there will be more than these ten by the time I come home for Christmas.

Has anyone read any of these books? I’d love to know your views and opinions. Which books should I prioritise and read sooner? And what books are you taking/have you taken to Uni/College with you, if you are going?

2 thoughts on “Books I’m Taking To Uni

Leave a Reply

