Reading Year in Review – 2015

12431718_1128914713785939_123849684_n

Hello lovely people. I hope you have all had a nice Christmas (or break, if you don’t celebrate)!

It’s almost the end of another year! And it’s that time again to review our favourite books of the year!

I’ve had a pretty busy year in 2015: transitioning from A-levels to degree, moving out and living in a new city. I also started this blog this Summer. Needless to say, I haven’t actually had a lot of time to spend reading (which I talked about in my updates last week). But of the little that I did read, I read a few really good ones, and gained some new all-time favourites!

So, without further ado…

Total No. Books Finished: 33
Total No. Books Not Finished:Β 4
Highest Reading Months: January (6), April (5), May (5)
Lowest Reading months: October (0), November (0), December (1)
Longest Book Read: The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson (763 pages)
Shortest Book Read: Equus by Peter Shaffer (112 pages)
Genres Read:
–Β Fantasy (14)
– Classics (6)
– Re-tellings (4)
– Contemporary (3)
– Sci-fi (2)
– Paranormal (2)
– Historical (1)
– Thriller (1)
– Steam-Punk (1)
(clearly fantasy is still my favourite genre!)


My Favourites…

acotarA Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas

By far, my favourite book of the whole year! It was also the first book I reviewed on this blog (which you can check out here for a full description of my love for this book!). I had waited so long for this book’s release, and it was everything I wanted in a book and more! Book 2 is right up at my most anticipated releases of 2016!

adsomA Darker Shade of Magic – V.E. Schwab

This was my first V.E. Schwab book, and started a new author love! Schwab has now turned into one of my (very few) auto-buy authors, and I cannot wait for the books she is releasing next year! Especially the sequel to ADSOM!

just one dayJust One Day – Gayle Forman

This book was an unexpected love for me. I don’t often read contemporary, as I am much more of a fantasy and sci-fi girl, but if it’s got Paris, I will probably make an exception! The main character was so relatable, and the story was so emotional. Probably now my favourite contemporary novel! I have a review up on this one too (here). The companion (Just One Year) is also on my to-be-read list for 2016.

the archivedThe Archived – Victoria Schwab

The third Schwab book I read this year! Despite loving her adult books, I wasn’t completely sure if I was going to fall so much in love with her YA. How wrong I was to doubt! The characters are ones that will always stick with me, and the world was so fantastic. The sequel (The Unbound) was just as amazing! I’ve heard rumours of a third book, though I’m not completely sure it’s going to be a thing. It would make me a very VERY happy girl if it is though! You can read my review of The Archived and The Unbound here.

the winners curseThe Winner’s Curse – Marie Rutkoski

I read both The Winner’s Curse and The Winner’s Crime this year, and was completely blown away by this story. I love that it’s a fantasy without magic. I love the real-life parallels. And I LOVE the characters. (I should probably stop using the ‘L’ word now!) And I have never been more glad to own the UK paperback editions of a trilogy (and avoid the cover change!!).

16176768Shades of Earth – Beth Revis

I read this book back in January, but it’s stuck with me as a stand-out of the year. The Across the Universe trilogy is one of few trilogies in which I have given every book 5 stars. This was a brilliant ending to one of my favourite trilogies!

22489107Fairest – Marissa Meyer

I don’t usually read many prequel books, but when Fairest – the story of the Lunar Chronicles’ villain – came out, I had to read it. It was only pretty short, but it packed in so much story, and so many answers! It’s probably one of my favourites of the series. I still have yet to read the final book (Winter) because of how little time I have had, but is another at the top of my 2016 TBR pile. I cannot wait to see how this series ends!

289870The Hobbit – J.R.R Tolkien

I’m almost embarrassed to say I only read this book for the first time this year! But now I’ve read it, and I can join with the raving that surrounds it. It was such a magical, wonderful book. And it was the first book I read of 2015 – so it was a great start to the reading year. The first book I read in a year always sticks with me (for good or bad), and this one is not exception. I completely fell in love with it, and although I have been having more trouble getting into the Lord of the Rings, I do expect to finish it next year!


So overall, it’s been a pretty quiet reading year. Definitely the lowest amount of books read for the past 4 or 5 years. However, it has also been a very busy, exciting year, so I’m not going to be too hard on myself. Hopefully next year I will have more time for reading, and finally get to some of the recent releases that I still have yet to read!

 

So how has your reading gone this year? What were some of your favourite reads of 2015? Let me know in the comments!

 

9 thoughts on “Reading Year in Review – 2015

    1. Thanks! I can’t wait to see how the Winner’s Curse trilogy is going to end!! V.E Schwab’s books are amazing, I’m glad I discovered them this year! The Hobbit is one of my all time favourites now – I’m ashamed it took me so long to actually start it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes me too!! And I’m so excited about reading more V E Schwab too- she’s probably my favourite new author I’ve read this year (I mean new to me). Yes! It’s been one of my all time favourites since I was little- welcome aboard the Hobbit fan club! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

