January Wrap-Up | 2016

January has been a pretty good reading month! I read a total of 8 books, which I am pretty pleased with – I haven’t read that amount of books in a month for a long time. Thankfully long Christmas holidays, and a pretty quiet start to the term has meant I have had quite a lot of time on my hands!

25068467
Uprooted by Naomi Novik
Rating: 3.5/5
Review
The first book I finished in January was Uprooted. I had already started this one at the end of December, and carried it over to January. I was pretty disappointed with this book though. I was expecting something truly magical, and was so hooked in by both the amazing reviews, and the fascinating premise. But it just fell very flat in terms of characters and world. I did love the style of storytelling though, so I would probably try another book by Naomi Novik if she releases something else that sounds interesting.

atpoyA Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray
Rating: 5/5
Review
So this was the first book I actually started in January. I always remember the first book I read in a year. I feel as though it sets the tone in terms of motivation and excitement to read. Fortunately, A Thousand Pieces of You was the PERFECT choice. I absolutely fell in love with the characters, the worlds, the storytelling: it was a perfect book, and probably my favourite of the month. I couldn’t recommend it enough!

rookRook by Sharon Cameron
Rating: 2/5
This book I actually started back in September last year, but had only read a little bit before putting it to the side. I didn’t like this book very much. I found it very tedious, long-winded, and dull. The characters felt very two-dimensional, and the futuristic Paris (which could have been so interesting) wasn’t explored in enough depth at all. I haven’t even brought myself to write a full review of this yet, because I don’t have a whole lot to say about it!

23437156


Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Rating: 4/5
Review
While I did enjoy this one, I did finish the book with a general sense of disappointment. I talked about this in my review, but I think I really compared it too much with Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy (which I really love), and the fact that it was nothing like those books probably dampened my reading experience. I found the story quite predictable, but I really loved the characters, and am still excited for book 2.

belle epoqueBelle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross
Rating: 3/5
This book was a very mixed bag. I really liked the themes and topics explored in the story. I loved the historical backdrop, and the author had clearly done her research, making this book feel very authentic and believable. But the characters were so annoying! The main character’s narration read as very immature, and silly. Her backstory was never really explored, despite the odd hints at it indicating that it really affected the character. It was very fast-paced though, and a quick standalone read, which was nice after a lot of fantasy and sci-fi.

slammed uk coverSlammed – Colleen Hoover
Rating: 5/5
This was my first Colleen Hoover book, and WOW – I am officially a Colleen convert. This book was absolutely beautiful, with such a heart-wrenching story (yes, I cried many tears at that ending), a very believable romance, and fantastic characters with depth. I really need the next book!

 

winterWinter – Marissa Meyer
Rating: 5/5
Review
It took me long enough to finally get to the last book of the Lunar Chronicles. I think I just didn’t want it to end, so dragged out starting it for as long as I could stand. What an amazing end to an amazing series. Despite its 800+ pages, I flew through it, devouring the pages so quickly. I’m still in such a Lunar Chronicles hangover, and I’m so glad ‘Stars Above’ is a thing. I need that thing now please.

ttsayTen Thousand Skies Above You (Firebird #2) by Claudia Gray
Rating: 4/5
This was a great book, but I didn’t LOVE it like I LOVED A Thousand Pieces of You. There were a few things that slightly irritated me with this sequel, or that just didn’t quite live up to book 1. I mean, considering how much I adored the first book, it would have taken A LOT to top it. I did love the story, and where the plot went though, and there were some serious plot-twists and revelations at the end of this instalment, that I really can’t wait for book 3!


So that’s my January wrap-up!

How many books did you read this month? What were your favourites?

5 thoughts on “January Wrap-Up | 2016

  1. Congrats on the 8 books! I haven’t read any Colleen Hoover, so I am looking forward to reading “Confess”, but “Slammed” look sooo interesting! I think I read 7 books this month. I was hoping to have two more in, but oh well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eight books is so good! I agree with what you said about Rook; I’m about halfway through (started in September) but I have little motivation to pick it up other than that I don’t like having half-read books. You’ve persuaded me to try A Thousand Pieces of You as well, I’ve been debating it for a while but I’ve only heard good things! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

