BOOK REVIEW: Rebel Spring (Falling Kingdoms #2) by Morgan Rhodes


Title: Rebel Spring (Falling Kingdoms #2)

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Genre: Fantasy

Published: 3rd December 2013

Format: Hardback

Rating:star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)



“You’ve made mistakes, yes. And I have no doubt, just as anyone who lives and breathes, that you will make many more in your life. But it doesn’t change who you are deep down inside.”

Goodreads Synopsis:

The road to power… is paved with blood and magic.

After a bloody siege, Auranos has been defeated, its young queen orphaned and dethroned. The three kingdoms—Auranos, Limeros, and Paelsia—are now unwillingly united as one country called Mytica. But the allure of ancient, dangerous magic beckons still, and with it the chance to rule not just Mytica, but the whole world over…

At the heart of the fray are four brave young people grappling for that magic and the power it promises. For Cleo, the magic would enable her to reclaim her royal seat. In Jonas’s hands, it frees his nation, and in Lucia’s, it fulfills the ancient prophecy of her destiny. And if the magic were Magnus’s, he would finally prove his worth in the eyes of his cruel and scheming father, King Gaius, who rules Mytica with a punishing hand.

When Gaius begins to build a road into the Forbidden Mountains to physically link all of Mytica, he sparks a long-smoking fire in the hearts of the people that will forever change the face of this land. For Gaius’s road is paved with blood, and its construction will have cosmic consequences.


This review will not have any spoilers for Rebel Spring, however there may be some spoilers for Falling Kingdoms, so make sure you have read Book 1 before reading this review!

This book was amazing, mind-blowing, gorgeous, shocking, wonderful and basically just PERFECT!

I don’t even think I can stress how good this book is. And how much better it is than Falling Kingdoms (and I really liked that book!).

Rebel Spring picks up in the aftermath of the battle that FK ended with. After all of the death, fighting, scheming and double-crossing, King Gaius now holds command over the three lands of Limeros, Auranos and Paelsia. One of my issues with Falling Kingdoms was how fast everything seemed to happen, and how quickly a war to conquer the lands was planned and won, but in Rebel Spring the pace slows a little. But it is still fast-paced when it needs to be, and never too slow that you could feel bored. The pacing and structuring of this story was just far superior to Book 1.

And the character development in this book made me a hundred times more connected to these characters! Cleo becomes so strong and determined, yet retaining a relatable amount of confusion and mourning, that made her so much more likeable! Lucia becomes far more interesting as we get to see a little more of what her power can do, and what she could be capable of. Magnus starts to come into his own, and his multi-layered depth receives the addition of a whole lot of new levels to his character and personality. I love how Morgan Rhodes has made a character that the reader feels they understand, but then does something so completely unexpected that has the reader questioning all of their assumptions again. Jonas is still probably my least favourite of the main four, and I found some of his decision-making a little irritating and annoying, but on the whole his story really grew throughout Rebel Spring too, and you see a more vulnerable side to him which was brilliant.

I also love that no one is safe in this series. Morgan Rhodes writes characters that you just cant help becoming emotionally attached to, and yet doesn’t hesitate to kill them off and leave you with a dumb-founded, wide-eyed, jaw-dropped expression, staring off into the distance wondering why you put yourself through such emotional trauma! – Not that that isn’t the every day life of an avid reader!

Overall, this was an amazing book, and a beautiful progression from its predecessor. Rebel Spring has left me desperately longing to pick Gathering Darkness and plough through its pages to find out WHAT ON EARTH HAPPENS NEXT!?




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s