April Wrap-Up | 2016

April has been another month of reading only 4 books. I’m still on track with my goodreads challenge though, and given how busy I have been, I’m not really upset with that. I really cannot wait until exam/assignments are over and I can read read read! But for now, here are my brief thoughts on the books I read in April!

6cbca6d9

13150029_1213434572000619_1520255682_nIlluminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Rating: 2/5
Review
This was the Bookaholic Alliance April BOTM. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with this book. I really didn’t like the quirky formatting, I found it very difficult to read, and I could not engage with the story at all. There was very little I actually enjoyed with this book, apart from the character Aidan who was, although very difficult to read, a little interesting. I am glad I finally read it though, because it had been on my TBR for ages!

13162204_1213434662000610_1300893914_n
Dark Continent by Mark Mazower
Rating: 4/5
Okay, so this doesn’t really fit in with my normal reading, but I am actually a history student, and do read history books sometimes! The thing is, I only usually read just one chapter, or just a section, to get the information that I need on a topic, and then leave the rest of the book. But this one I read cover to cover, because it was actually very interesting (and gave me lots of useful information to revise for my exam!).

13115322_1213434612000615_851439868_n
The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkowski
Rating: 4/5
In terms of writing style, character development, technicality of plotting etc this book was by far the best of the trilogy. In terms of the actual story, and my interest in what was going on, it was by far my least favourite. That said, the first two books were just so amazing, and I read them at a time when I really needed something to pick me up, and loved them for doing that. I think that sometimes, that can be the case: certain books are for certain times in your life, and reading them in another time doesn’t resonate so much with you. But I still gave it 4 stars, because the writing absolutely blew me away!

13162268_1213434498667293_617052550_n
Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes
Rating: 5/5
Review
Discussion
I ended April with my favourite book of the month: Rebel Spring – Book 2 in the Falling Kingdoms series. Although I had really enjoyed Falling Kingdoms, I wasn’t completely blown away by it, and I felt that something was missing. In this sequel, whatever was missing in Book 1 must have entered into the book, because I absolutely LOVED it! I am so invested in these characters and I am only two books through. I am so excited to see where the story goes in future books – and I have the rest of the series so far with me at Uni so I can just binge through them when I get some time!

6cbca6d9

That’s my reading wrap-up for the month of April! What have you read this month? And what was your favourite book that you read in April? Be sure to let me know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “April Wrap-Up | 2016

  1. Nice post. I’ve had Illuminae on my to read list for some time now, but I’m usually put off when reviews say it’s a difficult read. I’l make sure to read the ebook sample before buying it.

    I’ve been reading 4 books this past month (I posted about them on my blog) but finished 2 “The Prince of Thorns” and “Stories I Only Tell my Friends”. I liked both, can’t decide on a favorite πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Definitely try the sample first! I should do that more often! That should give you an idea of whether you would like it more. I think I am quite alone in not liking Illuminae though, because loads of people love it! I want to read The Prince of Thorns at some point – glad to hear you liked it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

