BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

17927395
Title: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy

Published: 3rd May 2016

Format: Paperback

Rating:  star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)

 

 

“I wonder if, even in my despair and hopelessness, I was never truly alone. I wonder if I was looking for this place – looking for you all”


Goodreads Synopsis:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Courtβ€”but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil loomsβ€”and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her futureβ€”and the future of a world cleaved in two.

6cbca6d9

A Court of Thorns and Roses (Book One) was my first ever review on this blog. I decided to start with a review of that book because I loved it so much that I could think of nothing but that book for weeks after finishing it. It was my favourite Sarah J. Maas book, and one of my favourite books of all time. There was no way another book could top that one! Not if it was going to mess with any of the characters I loved, or go in any other direction. Well, if I could go back in time to a-year-ago-me, I would kindly reassure her that I was so wrong, and that A Court of Mist and Fury would be ten times better and I would love it because of all of those changes of characters and plot directions. Because this book was beyond words – although I shall try: beautiful, seductive, passionate, intense, gorgeous, phenomenal, breathtaking…can you see my struggle? I beamed, giggled, blushed, shouted out loud and even cried. If you have not yet read A Court of Thorns and Roses, do yourself a favour and read it. If you have read book one and wasn’t as enthralled as I, DON’T STOP THERE, PICK UP THIS BOOK IT IS SO SO SO VASTLY SUPERIOR!

I will put in a warning though that this book has some very mature content, and so if you are a younger reader, and/or feel uncomfortable with that sort of thing, then I would warn you against it!

Okay okay, so now onto a proper kind of review… (there may be spoilers for book one, but there will be NO spoilers for ACOMAF!)

One of the things I loved most about this book was the time spent in the Night Court. After the bargain made at the end of the first book with Rhysand, Feyre is bound to spend one week of every month with him at the Night Court. When he doesn’t call in her bargain for a few months, she thinks he may have forgotten, but oh how wrong she is! And oh how glad I was! The time spent in the Night Court is described so vividly and beautifully that I had the most gorgeous, mystical, magical image in my head. I could see the colours, and hear the parties and feel the night air. It was such a unique and wonderful setting and honestly one of my favourite things about this book!

Rhysand was my favourite character of this book. Lucien was my favourite character of book one, and still one of my favourites. But this book just solidified my love for Rhys. We learn so much more about him, his past, and his character in this book. His connection to the story becomes so much clearer, and to see him outside of the confinement of Under the Mountain, in his own home Court, is something else!

In fact, all of the characters get a strong development in this book. Feyre becomes such a strong and different character in this book. Sarah J. Maas is amazing at character development, and I honestly think Feyre is one of the best character developments I have read. The events of Book 1 have changed her dramatically, and the whole new direction this book takes is kind of centred around the new person she has become. But it is a believable direction, and I loved seeing how those events had not broken her, but had made her so much stronger and braver, yet not in an unrealistic way at all. This transition was so wonderful to read. Tamlin I also had stronger feelings about in this book. In the first book, I liked him, but felt that he was probably the character I felt least towards. But ACOMAF made Tamlin into a much more interesting character. I did miss ACOTAR Lucien in this book, but I still have a hope that there will be more of him in the final book.

I don’t think I can really say much more without spoiling it, but I really loved this book, and I think it has spoiled me for the next several books I will read, because they have so much to live up to, to be anywhere close to the gloriousness of A Court of Mist and Fury! Sarah J. Maas’ books are always so empowering and make me feel like I can take on the world! And they always motivate me to carry on writing, and remind me of how much I love writing and the written word. This book is not only the best book I have read this year, and not only (most likely) the best book I will read this year, but is one of the best books I have read EVER, and will probably become my favourite trilogy ever (yes, I’m holding out much hope for you Book 3!!!).

13183091_1217936464883763_1918403840_n
13162002_1217936531550423_2063873682_n
13162548_1217936484883761_873471076_n

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: May Wrap-Up | 2016

Leave a Reply

