Empire of Storms – Cover Talk

So I am pretty sure everyone is aware now, and has seen the cover reveal for Empire of Storms, but I thought I might as well get in on the fun and tell you my thoughts on the newest cover…

(UK Covers)

(US Covers)

 

Aaaaaaannd…

UK                                            US

Here they are in all of their beautiful glory!

 

My Thoughts:

Colours…

I am still debating whether I prefer the UK or US covers as a whole (yep, it’s taken 5 books and I still don’t know which ones I prefer!). I love the UK covers for how they make the colours pop, and the simple spines look really nice on my shelf. But the background colours of the US editions are so much more exciting and eye-catching.

However, for Empire of Storms, I am completely clear in which edition is my favourite. I just LOVE the UK cover for how it makes the blues and oranges stand out so well. I think the greyish colour on the US edition makes Celaena kind of fade into the background a little.

Celaena…

I love the transition of Celaena in these covers, and this one is my favourite depiction of her. She appears so comfortable in her abilities in this cover. And so badass, but in a kind of calm way – like she can brandish a weapon and hold fire, but there’s a sense of calmness and comfort in it to her. I think that each book’s depiction of Celaena has fit with her character progression throughout the series, and I just love that! And I can’t wait to see Celaena’s character in this next book.

Outfit…

I love that the Eye of Elena is so visibly hanging around her neck, and that she appears comfortable with it on show. I think it fits with that whole comfortable calm look to her.

This outfit doesn’t seem so ‘fantasy’ as some of the other covers, and actually reminds me of a bit of a tidier and cleaner version of her outfit on Throne of Glass. She doesn’t look like she’s ready for battle in this outfit, unlike some of the others, which makes me really curious to see how this book is going to go.

Overall…

I really like this cover. In fact, I think it’s probably my favourite of the series so far (at least, of the UK covers)!

I can’t wait to see the back cover, and to see what beautiful dress she will be wearing!

This cover reveal has just made me even more excited for this book’s release. Especially as I have just finished ACOMAF and am now in need of more of Sarah J. Maas’ writing and worlds!

13187799_1219865571357519_534673933_n

6cbca6d9

What do you think of the new cover? Do you like it? Let me know in the comments!

8 thoughts on “Empire of Storms – Cover Talk

  1. Yay for someone chatting about this! I’m a huge fan of the US covers, I love all the deep colored backgrounds. I love Celaena’s outfit in this cover, she reminds me of a pirate to be honest hahaha I can’t wait for this book to come out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

