May Wrap-Up | 2016

This month has been REVISION MONTH. The month of all the revision and all the assignment-completing and all the exam-stressing…

But in less than a week it will be over, and my first year of university will be completed! Which is exciting but also scary. I mean, how did that whole first year go so fast!?

But this meant that I haven’t been able to read much this month. I did manage to read three books, which isn’t awful considering how busy and also difficult this month has been for me, but it’s also not particularly great (I feel like that is my feeling most months this year so far though!).

I am aware that the month of May is not yet entirely over, and that there are still a few days left, but I am pretty sure that I won’t complete another book in the span of those days (because of it being my final week of revision for exams!). Β So I am going to leave it at these three, and hope for a much longer wrap-up next month!

booooookbooooookbooooook
13183091_1217936464883763_1918403840_n

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
Rating: 5/5
Review
Book Discussion (Spoilers!)
I don’t even know where to begin with this book. A Court of Thorns and Roses was my most anticipated read of 2015, and was also my favourite read of 2015. ACOMAF was my most anticipated book of 2016, and is set to be my favourite book of 2016 too. No pressure for book 3 then!
Basically this book was so amazing I can’t even really put into words. (Although I did try in my review!) It was so much better than ACOTAR, and I loved ACOTAR, so that’s high praise from me!

12957190_1195285830482160_517796478_n.jpgThe Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith
Review
Rating: 3/5
I thought this was a very beautifully written story, in terms of great writing and interesting themes. I thought it was a very interesting twist on the fairytale retelling by using it as a sequel rather than a retelling along the same storyline. However, I had a few issues with the style of story-telling, and the fact that most of the story was told in back-story. Overall though, an enjoyable and quick read!

13281824_1224928517517891_203317308_nStars Above by Marissa Meyer
Rating: 5/5
Review
This book was just wonderful. I loved being back in the Lunar Chronicles world, and back with these wonderful characters! I’m not usually a fan of companion novellas, (which, let’s be honest, the vast majority of YA series do have now!) but I was able to put this aside because this was one case where I just wanted to be in the world again. Not because the series left lots of loose ends, but because I was in a Lunar Chronicles hangover and the only cure was more Lunar Chronicles stories! If you loved the series and are usually hesitant in picking up these novellas, I would really recommend them for satisfying any withdrawal symptoms from this series’ end!

booooook

So, that’s my May reading wrap-up! As always, let me know how much you read this month, and what your favourites were! My favourite was definitely A Court of Mist and Fury! I wish I could unread that book so I could have the pleasure of reading it for the first time all over again!

17 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up | 2016

  1. I’m hearing a lot of good things about A Court of Mist and Fury. I read the first book and liked it a lot. Recently[last night] I bought The Shadow Queen and These Vicious Mask. They were both on sale and I’m in the mood to buy lots of books.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

