BOOK REVIEW | Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

gd.jpg
Title: Gathering Darkness (Falling Kingdoms #3)

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Genre: Fantasy

Published: 9th December 2014

Format: Hardback

Rating:  star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)

 

 

 

 

“Hatred is like fire. It burns the one who harnesses it. It’s also extremely hard to see more helpful truths through its flames.”


Goodreads Synopsis:

In GATHERING DARKNESS, book three of the New York Times bestselling Falling Kingdoms series, the stakes have never been higher as three teams push forward on a race to find the Kindred, the four elemental crystals possessing ancient all-powerful magic, first:

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred – the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic…

 

6cbca6d9

The Falling Kingdoms series just keeps getting better and better! I thought Rebel Spring couldn’t be topped, but this third instalment proved me very wrong!

How to sum up my feelings whilst reading this book? Basically, think of all the emotions you experience when reading a book, and throw them all together, and you’ve got Gathering Darkness. It took me about 150 pages to fully get into this book, but once I’d gotten past the slow beginning I was completely hooked, and completely powered through the rest in one sitting. I was almost dying for a wee at one point, like on the verge of wetting myself, but I just couldn’t leave my book and there was no putting it down. Sorry for sharing that, but for anyone wondering, no, I thankfully did not actually wet myself. (There are some sacrifices you have to make for a good book though!)

This book takes off where Rebel Spring finishes. I can’t say that the prologue or introductory chapters particularly hooked me in this book, as much as in the others, but from about a third of the way in it becomes much more engaging. I’ve pretty much forgotten how the book even started, so that’s how memorable it was! But the amazing-ness of the rest of the book completely overshadowed this!

The magic side to the story really intensifies in this third book. After discovery of the Kindred, crystals with such ancient magic they could give the beholder the power to literally rule the world, there seems to be searching, double-crossing, scheming, finding, stealing and death from every angle to find them. I can see the magic getting quite dark once we find out just what the crystals can do!

What I love most about this series though, is how different all of the characters are. Particularly the main four. I also love that even though they are all so unlikable in so many ways, they are so uniquely interesting to read about because of that. In fact, my least favourite of the main four: Jonas, is probably the most ‘good’ and ‘moral’ of the characters, and yet I find him a less interesting character to read in comparison. I love that each character’s weaknesses, flaws and negatives are exaggerated, and Morgan Rhodes doesn’t just brush over them. The interactions between these characters are so fascinating as a result! Of course I love every Magnus and Cleo scene because those two have the most strange yet beautiful interactions.

The villains in this series also seem never-ending. I mean, every time you think a character is the biggest evil in the story, another character comes along that seems even worse. This instalment seemed to have about a hundred potential villains, and by the end we are introduced to someone who I can see becoming a very twisted character.

That’s all I can say without spoiling the book! If you want to read all of my thoughts in their spoiler-fuelled glory, then check out my Book Discussion!

13871727_1272360739441335_1664600771_n

 

 

2 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply

