On Writing | What am I writing?

Once I mentioned that I was writing a novel, I got a few questions about what it is exactly that I’m writing. At the moment, I don’t want to share the exact details of the story. Partly because it is still being planned and structured, and things may either change, and partly because it still feels so personal and secret to me that I don’t want to share it right now. However, I do want to let you know some of the basics of the story, so you know what sort of thing it is that I’m writing! So here’s a few bullet points…

  • It’s a YA fantasy novel (If you’ve been with me a while, you probably would have guessed that!).
  • I’m not yet sure whether it will be 3 or 5 books (depending on how much I can get into each book!)
  • The main character is called Iola
  • The story came to me whilst watching The Hunchback of Notre Dame (yep, the Disney movie!) and there’s one specific scene that the whole story has stemmed from – but I can’t mention which scene because… spoilers!!
  • The story begins at the end of a war (rather than at the start of one), and the world and characters that have been left in the aftermath. Pretty much every epic fantasy series has a war in it, but I thought it would be interesting to think about what life would be like once a war was over.
  • There are elves and dragons, as well as plain old humans and magical humans.
  • I have been working with the title ‘Songs of Dreams’ (although that is most likely going to change), because singing and dreams are central to Iola’s magic (which includes mind control through song).
  • The magic in this world is based on the mind and psychology.

So that’s all I’m going to share at this point. I am aware it all sounds a little generic so far, but I just don’t feel ready to give away any real details yet!

I thought it would be more interesting though, to show you some of the pictures and songs that have been inspiring this novel, because that’s how you can really get a little picture of what is going on inside my head!

 

As you can see, my mood board is basically lots of greens, plants, and dream-like gazes off into the distance. Which all makes sense to the story, and Iola’s character and world.

 

And some of the songs that have inspired certain scenes in my story…

 

Mononoke Hime (AKA the song this book could not have existed without! Particularly from 5 minutes in. I pretty much wrote the whole of the first draft of the story to Joe Hisaishi’s 25 year Concert!)

Starvation – Thomas BergersonΒ (this is the song that fits with the scene that the Hunchback of Notre Dame inspired, which probably makes absolutely no sense when you listen to it, but it does in my own crazy head! In fact, there’s a lot of Thomas Bergerson’s music on my playlist – I just find it so moving and emotional!)

The Bioluminescence of the Night – AVATARΒ Β (This song helps me picture one of the lands in the book very well. A land with dragons in, of course!)

The Equator – Brooke Fraser (this is one of the very few songs on my writing playlist with actual singing. I usually prefer instrumentals, because the words in the singing can put me off from the words I’m trying to get on the page. But this song is an exception, and a very recent addition to my playlist, because it is so atmospheric and fits right in with the feel of my story!)

6cbca6d9
That’s all I can share right now. Hopefully I can share more with you as I write more!

7 thoughts on “On Writing | What am I writing?

  1. It doesn’t sound generic at all. When you break something down that far everything is bound to sound a little samey. I like how you’re showing a fantasy world after the war is over rather than the build up toward, I’m interested in seeing what you’ll do with it πŸ™‚
    I love using pictures as inspiration for stories. I have so many private pinboards on pinterest with story ideas!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad it doesn’t sound too generic, but yes you’re completely right about breaking it up making everything sound similar in some way! I love pinterest – mine is pretty much full of story ideas and pretty dresses!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This really sounds great, I can’t wait to hear more about it!
    I love fantasy, and that psychology aspect and post-war kind of thing is really interesting πŸ˜€
    Oh, and these pictures look lovely! Photos are great to get inspired and if your story is as beautiful as these pictures, it can only be amazing! ;D
    I can’t listen to the music right now, but I will definitely do that later! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

