NaNoWriMo 2K16

This year is the year I plan to kind of do NaNoWriMo.

I say ‘kind of’ because I’m not particularly following the rules…

For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo (or, National Novel Writing Month) happens every year in November, and the goal is to write 50,000 words of a novel in that month. That’s a lot of writing – especially in amongst studies and work! Which is why I have never participated in it before.

Only once in my life have I written a whole novel in the space of a month (65,000 words in 2 weeks!) and I really don’t know how I did that, or how I can find that sort of motivation ever again! Or time!

But recently, I have been craving the time to do something creative and to write stories again. The novel I have been working on for the last couple of years is a project I’ve been working on for a long time, and although I am very attached to it, it has begun to feel like just another job to add on to my already very busy schedule, and I have found myself just not writing at all.

So this November, IΒ am setting myself a little writing project, that may become a novel, or may just stay as its own little project!

This is where the ‘kind of’ comes in…

Here’s my plan:

14800823_1374717722538969_527508173_n

I have a bunch of characters in my mind, and my plan is to print off pictures that I find interesting, stick them in a notebook, and write a scene/short story/poem/anything that I feel inspired to write, about that picture, with these characters in mind. It’s going to make a very disjointed, non-chronological, random story, but I feel like it’s just the sort of creative writing that is going to be fun for me to do. I will be able to write complete pieces each day, without worrying about it having to fit in a bigger story. I can write without thinking about whether it needs editing, or what anyone else will think if they read it. In other words, it can just be for me, and for a fun source of creativity.

In terms of the 50,000 words, I’m not going to stick to this too rigidly. Firstly, I’m planning to write by hand, which will be rather difficult to keep count of. Secondly, I’m mostly just wanting to write more regularly, rather than more words, so if writing in these little chunks will help me to do that, then it will be a success for me, even if it isn’t technically a NaNoWriMo win!

6cbca6d9

Who else is participating in NaNoWriMo this year? What are your plans? I’d love to know!

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2K16

Leave a Reply

