NaNoWriMo 2016 | Update #1

I thought today would be a good day to write my first NaNoWriMo update, given that today is the day I actually started writing. Yes, it has taken me four days to finally write that first word! And I haven’t even reached the daily word count.

But let’s be positive: I finally started!

I also wanted to give an update on what I’m actually writing, because my plans have changed a bit!

Originally, I was planning to write odd scenes and chapters in a notebook, just for fun, rather than a full, continuous novel. My thinking was that it would take away some of the pressure I usually feel when writing a full novel: of having to complete something from start to finish. Especially as November is a pretty busy Uni deadlines month!

But guess what I’m doing now…that’s right: I’m writing a full novel!!! Perhaps the novel-writing excitement of everyone else participating finally got to me!

I’m going to be realistic with myself, in that 50,000 words is going to be pretty ambitious given that I have multiple essays, papers and research for Uni to complete this month, but I really want to get as many words down as I can. I don’t have a numerical goal, just a ‘write every day’ goal.

I also, FINALLY, made a NaNoWriMo account on the NaNoWriMo website! I currently have no buddies and am feeling very lonely, and I also want to see how you are doing with NaNoWriMo so far, so feel free to add me as a writing buddy! My username is ‘reader in a reverie’ (just like my blog, so should be easy to find!).

Who else is taking part this year? How is your writing/word count going so far? I think I’m on about 1,500 words (pretty shameful!).

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016 | Update #1

Leave a Reply

