Reading Year in Review | 2016

2016 was the first year in which I set myself a goodreads challenge. I was feeling quite optimistic about it, despite having only finished 33 books in 2015. So I set myself a challenge of 50 books for the year, which has been a manageable number for me in previous years. I’ll say from the outset: I did not achieve this goal. I failed to counter in just what a busy and hectic year 2016 would be. So I’m not as upset with myself as I was this time last year, because I know that I have had an amazing year, and that reading just couldn’t take priority to some of these things.

But, just as I did in 2015, I am doing another Reading Year in Review, where I analyse the books that I have read in the year, in a little more depth! I’ve also added another couple of categories to talk about in this year’s edition!

6cbca6d9

Total No. Books Finished: 34

Total No. Books Not Finished:
 5

Highest Reading Months:
January (8), March (4), July (4)

Lowest Reading months:
 August (0), November (0),

Longest Book Read:
 Winter (The Lunar Chronicles #4) by Marissa Meyer (832 pages)

Shortest Book Read:
 The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith (155 pages)

Genres Read:
(some of these overlap)
– Fantasy (18)
– Retellings (5)
– Contemporary (6)
– Sci-fi (5)
– Paranormal (2)
– Historical Fiction (3)

 

Favourite Cover of 2016:

20983362.jpg
The cover for Passenger by Alexandra Bracken is easily the most beautiful cover released in 2016 (that I read). I love the colours, the font, the reflection. The physical hardback is even more gorgeous in real life, with a slightly shiny, shimmery effect to it. Okay, that description doesn’t sound that good. It’s beautiful, okay. Just take my word for it!

If we are counting books that I didn’t get around to actually reading, that were released in 2016, my favourite cover is easily that of A Million Worlds With You by Claudia Gray!

 

 

 

Biggest Disappointment of 2016:

23395680
I had such high hopes for Illuminae, but I ended up so disappointed and dissatisfied.

The formatting is really interesting, but it ended up distracting me from the story, and I found myself getting slightly annoyed with it.

It was a cool concept, but I guess just not for me!

 

 

 

 

Top 5 Reads Of 2016:
(in no particular order)

17234658
Review

A Thousand Pieces of You
Claudia Gray

This was one of the first books that I read in 2016, and was easily one of the best books I read all year. It was such an interesting concept. It was one of those books that I picked up on a whim because it had a pretty cover and I’d heard other people talk about it, even though I didn’t really know all that much about it. But I ended up falling completely in love with it! It had everything that I love about a story, wrapped up into one fantastic book! I still need to read the final book in this trilogy, which came out a couple of months ago, but I’m delaying ending such a beautiful series.

17927395
Review

A Court of Mist and Fury
Sarah J. Maas

Last year, A Court of Thorns and Roses was my favourite book of 2015. This year, its sequel is easily my favourite of 2016. Sarah J. Maas’ books will forever be on my favourites lists! And this was arguably my favourite Sarah J. Maas book yet!

slammed-uk-cover
Slammed
Colleen Hoover

I’m not usually a fan of contemporary books like this one, but Slammed completely blew me away. I loved these characters and the beautiful romantic story, and it is probably one of my favourite contemporary romances of all time!

29559052
Review

Empire of Storms
Sarah J. Maas

If Sarah J. Maas releases two books in a year, then there is a very high likelihood that there will be two Sarah J. Maas books on my favourites list! I really enjoyed this instalment in the Throne of Glass series, especially because Queen of Shadows, last year, was the only one of Maas’ books that I didn’t love. I loved some of the new characters that were introduced in this instalment, and one of my favourite new ships was introduced in this book!

26115230
Grey Review / Shadow Review

Grey and Shadow
Christi J. Whitney

I’m kind of cheating here, but I thought that I would add both of these books in one, because they are both part of the same series, and I loved them both equally. This is such a fun and enjoyable YA series, and I’m very much looking forward to reading the third book!

6cbca6d9

I read so many great books this year, and I could have included many more in this list. I should also mention: Winter and Stars Above by Marissa Meyer, The Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes, and the script for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, for almost making the list!

How was your reading year? Did you meet your goodreads challenge? And did you find any new all-time favourite books? 

Leave a Reply

