2017 Bookish Resolutions

Happy New Year!

Thank you to everyone who has stuck with me, or joined me in 2016! I have been so blessed to get to know so many wonderful people in the bookish community over the past year, and I can’t wait to begin another year of blogging and bookstagramming!

I didn’t set myself many reading goals in 2016, other than to finish certain series, and to read 50 books. I don’t think I did actually finish many of those series. I also didn’t read those 50 books.

So for this year’s bookish resolutions, I still want to challenge myself, but I also need to make the goals realistic.

2017 is going to be a very busy year for me, and I know that I won’t be able to make much more time for reading than I already have been. In 2015 I finished 33 books, and in 2016 I completed 34, and so I’m setting my goodreads challenge at 35 for 2017 (I think just one extra book is a realistic and achievable goal!).

15841231_1458026744208066_1774026245_n.jpg

Side note: I’m combining my reading resolutions and my blogging resolutions here, because most of them overlap anyway!

6cbca6d9

1. READ MORE CLASSICS

I think 2016 was the first year, for a long time, that I didn’t read a classic. Okay, I never read loads of them, but I always read at least a few. And I usually get a lot of satisfaction and joy from reading them. So this year, my goal is to read more classics (which won’t be hard because we’re talking about more than none!). I’m not setting a number, although I have a few that I specifically want to finally read…

  • I want to finish This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald, which I did start last year but only got about half way through. I can’t remember why I put it down, because I remember that I was really enjoying it. I might have to scan through the first half again to remember what was going on, but I definitely want to finish this one this year!
  • I also want to read more F. Scott Fitzgerald. I’m not setting which books exactly, but just more of his works in general, because I love the way he writes and have enjoyed what I have read from him.
  • Finally, I want to get to North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell. I first watched the BBC miniseries years ago, and I re-watch it quite often. It’s probably my favourite BBC period drama – and I still haven’t even read the book! 2017 will be the year to change that!


2. READ MORE REVIEW BOOKS

Last year (it feels weird calling 2016 that already!), I read quite a few books offered to me for review, but also had to turn down many because of workload. But this year I don’t want to have to turn down quite as many. One of the main reasons that I started this blog was to review books, and I want that to feature more on my blog than it has done in the past year!


3. FINISH THE MISTBORN SERIES

It has been about two years now since I first read The Final Empire (the first book in the Mistborn series) by Brandon Sanderson, and at least a year and a half since reading The Well of Ascension (book two). I don’t know what makes me keep putting off finishing the trilogy, given that I enjoyed the first two so much. If I don’t finish it this year, I will have probably completely forgotten what the story was about. (I’m already beginning to!)


4. TALK MORE ABOUT MY WRITING ON MY BLOG

The other main reason for setting up this blog, was to talk to people about writing, and to learn from others about theirs’. But I haven’t done a great job of talking about writing at all, given that it is something I am really passionate about. So in 2017, I will try to update you on my writing more regularly, and also talk about writing more generally. I might even share some of what I write too.


5. FINISH A NOVEL

For the past couple of years, I have started and left unfinished about five novels. I only completed one, which I wrote about three years ago now, and is in dire need of editing! This year, I want to actually complete one of these five! I think I know which one I will be focusing my attention on, which I will talk about more in a separate post, but I want to make the effort to really push myself to finish it. I don’t mean final edits done and nothing left to change, but I would at least like to have finished the first draft, and have completed a first round of edits.

6cbca6d9


Those are my bookish resolutions for 2017! Have you set any for yourself? Let me know in the comments! 

18 thoughts on “2017 Bookish Resolutions

  1. Happy new year! I hope this is the year you finally complete one of your novels. πŸ™‚ I’m also hoping to read more classics year, particularly by F Scott Fitzgerald. I don’t read a lot of classics but when I do, they’re quite enjoyable. Best of luck in following your resolutions! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You and I have pretty similar goals! I would like to start the Mistborn series and also blog more about my writing. My goal this year is to finish not one but two rough drafts of manuscripts and begin readying at least one of them for publication (I have no idea how realistic that is, but we’ll see). I wish you luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ooo the mist born series looks so good (judging a book by it’s cover – oops!) I’m gonna have to check it out! A friend of mine has challenged me to read 50 books this year, so I’d better get going!
    I’ve recently written a post on my page about my views on New Years Resolutions, if you have a moment please check it out!
    CrowdedVlogger xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The first two books were really good so I’m sure the third one will be also! The covers are so stunning, I totally kinda partly bought them for the covers! πŸ˜‚ Best of luck with your 50 books!
      I’ll check out your post too! ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I LOVE your resolutions! I joined a group in Goodreads that’s trying to tackle The Guardian’s 1,000 Books Before You Die, so I anticipate quite a few classics this year as well! I too set a New Year’s Resolution for myself to finish writing one of my many incomplete manuscripts! I wish you luck, and hopefully we can both fulfill our goals this year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

