BOOK REVIEW | A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3) by Claudia Gray

28960100
Title:
 A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3)

Author: Claudia Gray

Genre: Science Fiction

Published: 1st November 2016

Publisher: HarperTeen

Format: Hardback

Rating:  star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)star (1)


Travel through enough dimensions and maybe you’d find the hero and the villain in everyone”

Synopsis (from back cover):

The fate of the multiverse rests in Marguerite Caine’s hands. Marguerite has been at the center of a cross-dimensional feud since she first traveled to another universe using her parents’ invention, the Firebird. Only now has she learned the true plans of the evil Triad Corporation—and that those plans could spell doom for dozens or hundreds of universes, each facing total annihilation.

Paul Markov has always been at Marguerite’s side, but Triad’s last attack has left him a changed man—angry and shadowed by tragedy. He struggles to overcome the damage done to him, but despite Marguerite’s efforts to help, Paul may never be the same again.

So it’s up to Marguerite alone to stop the destruction of the multiverse. Billions of lives are at stake. The risks have never been higher. And Triad has unleashed its ultimate weapon: another dimension’s Marguerite—wicked, psychologically twisted, and always one step ahead.

6cbca6d9

Words are rather difficult to find, for describing this book. My emotions were a bit of a mess when I turned over the final page. I picked up A Thousand Pieces of You around this time last year, and it was one of those books that I wasn’t really expecting a great deal from. I was reading it mostly because it had been on my TBR for so long that it was about time that I got to it! But it ended up becoming one of my favourite books. And now that I’ve finished the trilogy, I can say with certainty that this is not only one of my absolute favourite sci-fi series, but that it is one of my favourite series full stop.

I did not want to leave these characters! Paul and Marguerite are two of my favourite characters of all time, and they grew and developed so much in this story, and it was so heartbreaking/beautiful/lovely/sad/happy/a lot of other emotions reading about their journey together. Each new variation of their characters was so fun to discover and interesting to read. Claudia Gray has a way of introducing the same character twenty times, and still writing someone unique, interesting, and yet still clearly the same person, each time.

The romance in this final book was also done so well. It progressed throughout the book in such a way that I was literally going to tear the book apart if things did not go the way I wanted them to. Okay, that is a slight over-exaggeration, but you get the point; I loved these characters and the romantic story line so much, that I was so emotionally invested in them. And the alternate dimensions discovered in this book, (one in particular!) just made me fall in love with these characters over and over again.

And yet again, the dimensions in this story were so wonderfully creative and engaging. I was desperate to discover each new world, and loved the premise behind Marguerite’s motivation for travelling to each new universe; discovering where that put her in each story line. There were so many fun smaller mysteries and plot points, that made it such a joy to read the whole way through.

And the ending…I couldn’t have pictured a better way to end such a fun, beautiful and creative series.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Firebird trilogy to any YA sci-fi fans, as well as anyone who likes epic romance, alternate dimensions, the fight between the good and bad inside everyone, Lieutenant Markov (trust me, you do want Lieutenant Markov), or simply lots of fun, in their books!

 

6 thoughts on “BOOK REVIEW | A Million Worlds With You (Firebird #3) by Claudia Gray

Leave a Reply

