Diverse Reading in 2017

I am so happy that there has been such a push recently, to advocate reading more diversely. I think that reading, for me, is primarily about learning, and reading about what you know, prevents that. Books are the perfect platform to learn about other people and other ways of life than your own.

So I thought that I would share some of the more diverse reads that I’m really interested in getting to this year. It’s unlikely that I will get to read all of them, but I’m creating this list as a reference to myself as well as to anyone looking for some diverse reads. I’ve linked the goodreads pages for each of these books on the book images, so that you can check out the descriptions and reviews!

Side-note: These books are primarily based on religious and/or ethnically diverse storylines and characters, as this is where I want to challenge myself in terms of diversifying the books I read this year! They are also mostly YA.

 

20578768223929352284018222521951

1.Playing with Matches by Suri Rosen
2. This Side of Home by Renee Watson
3. The Summer of Chasing Mermaids by Sarah Ockler
4. Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

 

18798983303174232250105528458598

5. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
6. Ronit and Jamil by Pamela L. Laskin
7. Under and Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
8. When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

 

16123804294145767005878531944

9. The Fire Wish by Amber Lough
10. Tash Hearts Tolstoy by Kathryn Ormsbee
11. Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord
12. Salt Fish Girl by Larissa Lai

 

I found many of these books on the Diverse Reads 2017 Reading List, from the lists on religious diversity, ethnic diversity and voice. It’s a great list to check out if you want to find some more diverse reads!

6cbca6d9

If you have any other recommendations of diverse reads, please comment them below, as I’d love to know of more!

Leave a Reply

