Favourite Fantasy Books | Part One

Just in case I haven’t mentioned this fact enough on my blog: fantasy is my favourite genre. Most of my all-time favourite books are within the fantasy genre, and it’s what I read most of. So I thought I would share some of my favourites with you. I have far too many to list in just one blog post, so here is just part one (with quite possibly many more parts to come!)

6cbca6d9

1. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

12pcs-the-font-b-chronicles-b-font-of-font-b-narnia-b-font-font-b-book
This series was my childhood. I must have read each book in this series at least five times before I turned 12. I completely fell in love with the world of Narnia and with each of the adventures and stories. Prince Caspian and The Voyage of the Dawn TreaderΒ were my favourites, although I have such happy memories of reading them all.

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

the night circus
If you are like me, and most people know of your love for books, you probably get the question: ‘What’s your favourite book?’ quite a lot! Well I always reply with one of two books, and The Night Circus is one of that two. It is such a magical and wonderfully strange story. It’s one of the few books that I can read and re-read any number of times, and still feel as much enjoyment in it each time. It is also the sort of book that is best to go into knowing as little as possible. There is a reason that the blurb is the opening sentences of the book. I will tell you one of my favourite things about the story though: you, the reader, are also a character!

3. The Chronicles of Ixia by Maria V. Snyder

ps
The other of my two favourites that I always reply with, is Poison Study, the first book in the Chronicles of Ixia/Study series. This series follows a young woman on trial, who is offered the position of poison taster to the Commander of the country. The story follows her role as a poison taster, her self-discovery, and her coming to terms with the events that led to her impending execution. It is a truly amazing book, and the series that made me fall in love with fantasy again.


4. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

shadow-and-bone_hi-res-677x1024
These books were so wonderfully magic, and I have read them multiple times and don’t think I will ever grow out of them. The tsarist Russian setting, the magic system, the characters (basically Nikolai) are all so gripping and fantastic. It follows a girl who discovers that she is one of the Grisha, and possesses a magic that makes her extremely powerful and valuable. I am aware that the Six of Crows duology is a sort of spin off in the Grishaverse, but I seriously just want more of these characters.

5. A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy by Sarah J. Maas

acotar
I know this one is a little bit of a risk to claim as a favourite, given that the third book is yet to come out, but I have a lot of hope that the final book in the trilogy will be equally as amazing as the first two. And even if it is not, I think I will still forever love the first two enough for it to always be a favourite anyway. This is such an addictive series, full of plot twists and such depth and rawness in the characters. The first book is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast crossed with East of the Sun, West of the Moon (my two favourite fairy tales), and the second is a kind of Hades and Persephone retelling. I’m not sure if there is going to be a twist on the third book too, but the story has really developed into its own thing, that I know it can be great with or without the fairy tale element. Also, there’s Rhysand, which is pretty great.

6cbca6d9


So that’s part one of my favourite fantasy books. I would love to know some of your favourites too! Do we share any?Β 

26 thoughts on “Favourite Fantasy Books | Part One

  1. Wow I love your picks. A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy would without a doubt be in my top 5 as well. I haven’t read The Chronicles of Ixia or The Night Circus, but I hope I will get to these books this year. In my top 5 the Harry Potter series would probably place first; love those books.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe for the first time this past year and absolutely loved it. I actually listened to it via audiobook and it was so well done. I definitely need to listen to the rest of the series now.

    I feel like I am the last person on earth to read The Night Circus. What makes it even worse is that I own a copy to boot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi, I’m Krystina from KMReadsBlog and I found you through the search engine on wordpress. I was looking for other bloggers. I really like all of the books you have listed but haven’t read the Poison Study books yet. I’ve heard alot of good about them though. I really enjoyed Shadow and Bone but haven’t read the sequel despite buying it lol. I need to read ACOTAR and Night Circus. I have heard that Caraval(a new release) is alot like Night Circus but haven’t read either yet. If you can’t tell, my tbr is terribly long and I don’t make much progress because I keep adding. lol. Can you relate? I’m a new book blogger so if you want to stop by and check out my blog, that would be cool or if you have any advice. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Poison Study books are amazing! And you definitely need to read ACOTAR and The Night Circus! I have just finished reading Caraval, and really enjoyed it. It is a bit like TNC in terms of the atmosphere of it, but the story and style is very different. I can definitely relate to the long TBR – there are so many amazing books to read!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

