January Wrap-up | 2017

The first month of 2017 is finished, and with it, has come the start of a new semester, plenty of uni reading, and not a whole lot of free time! I still managed to read a few books, although most on this list have been read for my uni course.

6cbca6d9

 

15782169_1451607338183340_619568710_n
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

by J.K. Rowling
Rating: 5/5

This was the perfect book to start off my year! I wasn’t sure, at first, how much I would enjoy reading the screenplay of a film that I had already loved on screen. It seemed a little bizarre, in fact, that they were even selling a screenplay. But I actually really enjoyed it! As I was reading it, I was picturing every part of the film, and even realising things that I hadn’t quite picked up on whilst watching it in the cinema. If I can combine my enjoyment of watching the film and reading the screenplay together, it would certainly be 5 stars!

IMG_2123.JPG

A Million Worlds With You
by Claudia Gray
Rating: 5/5

This was easily my favourite read of the month. It concluded one of my favourite sci-fi trilogies of all time, and it was everything I could have hoped for. This series is such a wonderful, quirky, fun and fast-paced trilogy, and this final book was no exception. I loved the new dimensions introduced in this book, and the conclusion to some wonderful character and relationship arcs.

16507526_1491669044177169_1918800647_n

The Russian Revolution: A Very Short Introduction
by S.A. Smith
and
Stuart Britain: A Very Short Introduction
by John Morrill

I read both of these for my Religious History module, which is a comparative study of Revolutionary Russia and Revolutionary England in Stuart Britain. I had a very basic knowledge of both time periods, so these short introduction books were both really helpful for gaining an insight into the times, and understanding the basics of what was happening. They are, as stated in their title, very short introductions, and as such don’t go into a lot of detail, but that was what I needed to start off my reading (which has become a lot more detailed very quickly!), and so they were useful to read.

16558351_1491669047510502_1037046305_n

One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich
by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn
Rating: 3/5

I read this book for my Soviet Union module, although I know this is a classic, so I was excited to read it anyway. I thought it was a really insightful and interesting book, however I honestly couldn’t help wanting to skim read and finish it as quickly as I could. It isn’t divided by chapters, and so it reads as one continuous thing, and I really didn’t like that. I need natural breaks in a story, otherwise it feels like there’s no breathing space in the book. I also found the descriptions quite boring to read. The themes were very interesting though, and it is an important read!

6cbca6d9

So those were the 5 books that I managed to complete in January. I don’t think 5 books is too bad (even though three of them were for my studies!). It also doesn’t include all of the other articles/odd chapters I have had to read for uni too!

How did you do this past month? Did you manage to read all that you wanted? And what was your favourite book of the month?

One thought on “January Wrap-up | 2017

Leave a Reply

