Favourite Fantasy Books | Part Two

Read part one of my favourite fantasy books first!

Finally, here’s part two of my favourite fantasy novels. I’m sticking with mentioning five books/series per part (because otherwise I could talk about my favourites for hours!).

Part Two includes a lot more fantasy ‘classics’…

6cbca6d9

6. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

download
What sort of book or fantasy nerd would I be without mentioning Harry Potter in this list? The only reason it wasn’t mentioned in part one was because, unlike many others, I didn’t grow up with this series. I only actually started the first book when The Deathly Hallows came out. But despite missing out on them in my childhood, I still feel as connected to this world as if I had read them ten years before I did. There’s something about these books that just feels like it lives on forever.

 

 

 

7. The Hobbit by J.R.R Tolkien

41aQPTCmeVL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

I only read The Hobbit a couple of years ago, (yet another classic that I was late to!) but I absolutely fell in love with it. I have struggled to get into The Lord of the Rings, but found The Hobbit so fun and whimsical and easy to follow in comparison. If you have struggled with LOTR, but haven’t yet tried reading the Hobbit, definitely give it a try! The characters are lovable, the adventure is fun, and the world is pure, classic, wonder-filled fantasy!

 

 

 

 

8. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne_of_Glass_UK
I mentioned Sarah J. Maas’ ACOTAR series in Part One, but it is her Throne of Glass series that first caused me to fall in love with her writing and worlds. The first book in the series was one of the first YA fantasies that I read, and I have followed the series, eagerly awaiting every new release, each year since. I love how each new release adds something more intricate, complex, emotional, and raw to the story, and I am so not emotionally ready for the finale this summer! This is another example of a fantasy series given fuel by its interesting and diverse cast of characters, who are just as wonderful to read as Sarah’s writing is to read, and as the world is to be immersed in.

 

 

 

9. Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder

12541330._UY200_

Of course Maria V. Snyder’s books would appear again on this list! While Poison Study will probably always remain my favourite of her books, her Touch of Power trilogy was also such fun to read. Β It follows Avery, the last of the Healers, who are being hunted for causing the disease that has spread across the land. After being captured, she is given a chance at freedom, if she will help someone she does not particularly want to help! The first book, in particular, had all of the elements of YA fantasy that I love most: a head-strong female protagonist, magic in peril, angsty romance, adventure and travel.

 

 

10. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

61czWGfS9PL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
It’s been a long time since I read this trilogy, but it still remains crystal clear in my mind, with the beautiful and lyrical writing creating such vivid images of the world and characters. The story follows Karou, a girl whose hair grows blue, who lives with chimera, and has the constant sense that her life doesn’t quite make sense. The story follows her self-discovery, and the greater battle that she is tied to. It is atmospheric, mysterious and intriguing throughout.

 

 

 

 

6cbca6d9

That’s all for part two of my favourite fantasy books! Do we share any favourites? Let me know some of yours below too!

9 thoughts on “Favourite Fantasy Books | Part Two

  1. I love Poison Study, the original trilogy. I’ll have to check out Touch of Power. I tried Throne of Glass and didn’t like it so much BUT her Court of Thrones and Roses series if fantastic! Definitely give that series a try if you haven’t already.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the original study trilogy too. It’s still my favourite over Touch of Power, but I love all of Maria V. Snyder’s books! I love Sarah J. Maas ACOTAR series slightly more than her TOG series too, but the fact I’ve been reading them for so long makes me feel very attached to them!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t know how you feel about sci-fi fantasy but you might want to give Lindsay Buroker a try. Her series’ Emperor’s Edge and Fallen Empire are phenomenal. I need to get on reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone. You’re the 3rd person to highly recommend it in a favorite post.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Hobbit is such a fun book and I simply adore it!! And I have to agree, it’s a lot easier getting into it then into Lord of the Rings – though I did read Lord of the Rings first for some reason. XD I really want to read the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, as I have heard amazing things about it. Plus it seems like a series that I would very much enjoy – so hopefully I’ll be able to get my hands on it soon. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Harry Potter and The Hobbit are both on my favorite fantasy lists. Have you read the LOTR trilogy? I tried the first book (The Fellowship of the Ring) but it wasn’t as exciting as The Hobbit was for me…

    I’ve never seen that cover for Daughter of Smoke and Bone! I think I prefer it to the blue mask one I’ve always seen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

