Poetry Mini-Reviews #1

milk and honey

Title: Milk and Honey
Author: Rupi Kaur
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Format: Paperback
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Some of the poems in Milk and Honey were definitely 5 star poems, but there were others that I thought were just okay. Perhaps the very short, two-line poem style is just not really my sort of poetry. The overall feel of the collection as a continuous story, however, was so moving and beautiful. Rupi Kaur’s emotion was poured onto these pages in raw, unashamed language, that hits you right from page one. Although not every poem of hers is particularly my favourite style, Rupi Kaur was probably the poet that made me realise that I could love modern poetry again (school sort of ruined it for me), and I will be forever grateful to her for that. It was finding one of her poems in a post shared online that made me find romantic poetry beautiful again:

did you think i was a city
big enough for a weekend getaway
i am the town surrounding it
the one you’ve never heard of
but always pass through
there are no neon lights here
no skyscrapers or statues
but there is thunder
for i make bridges tremble
i am not street meat i am homemade jam
thick enough to cut the sweetest
thing your lips will touch
i am not police sirens
i am the crackle of a fireplace
i’d burn you and you still
couldn’t take your eyes off me 
cause i’d look so beautiful doing it
you’d blush
i am not a hotel room i am home
i am not the whiskey you want
i am the water you need
don’t come here with expectations
and try to make a vacation out of me

 


32501551.jpg


Title:
 Uncaged Wallflower
Author: Jennae Cecelia
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This collection was so uplifting, motivating and hopeful. I kept finding a new favourite every few pages. It is like a sort of positivity devotional, which you could keep on your bedside table and flip through each morning for a burst of motivation. It even begins with a poem addressed to The Reader, which was what drew me into the collection at first. The poems are pretty and most of them long enough to feel a lovely rhythm to them.

My favourite of the collection was Dear You:

You made it.
You are here.
All the moments spent in agony,
wondering when the pain would end.
You are here.
You made it.
Your mind is beautiful and brilliant.
You may not be everyone’s cup of tea.
Some people need cream
or sugar
just to take you.
Others enjoy you pure in taste.
But neither of that matters,
because you are at a place you once
dreamed as your escape.
Who knew you would love smiling,
pure genuine smiles that didn’t hint
at the firing thoughts behind your eyes.
You want others to know that their minds
can feel this wonderful too.
We made it my friend.
Now it’s time for your breakthrough.

 


34376890.jpg

Title: Magic With Skin On
Author: Morgan Nikola-Wren
Publisher: Luminarium Press
Format: Paperback
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Morgan Nikola-Wren’s words are stunningly beautiful. I was in awe throughout reading Magic With Skin On. This book made me grin and cry when I had finished. The collection tells a story about a toxic relationship and is spread across 7 Acts, each with its own set of poems, and they flow into each other perfectly. I flew through it in one night, because I just didn’t want to put it down. It was like reading a novel told through a collection of poems.

I had so many favourite parts, but my favourite by far was from Act 4, Poem X

my God claims
the shape of my
body around me
even when
the only prayers i’ve got
are baseball bats, swinging livid,
He is still tattooed
onto each face
that drives me home 
when i drink myself into
saturday night remnants

7 thoughts on “Poetry Mini-Reviews #1

    1. Thank you! Yeah, I can see why everyone is obsessed with it, the poetry is really powerful, I think the style just wasn’t what the hype made it out to be (the over-hyped problem yet again!).
      Magic with Skin On was really beautiful, I’d really recommend!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

