BOOK REVIEW: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

15950496

Title: Slammed

Author: Colleen Hoover

Genre: Contemporary

Published: 10th August 2012

Publisher: Atria Books

Format: Paperback

Rating:  5/5

“Life wants you to fight it.
Learn how to make it your own. ”

Synopsis:

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

6cbca6d9

(I found this review in my drafts from nearly two years ago and it made me giggle at how silly it is. Hopefully past-Jen’s attempts at slam poetry will make you giggle too!) In all seriousness though, this book was beautiful and heart-warming, and filled with such heart-wrenching poetry. It is one of my favourite contemporaries of all time, and I still thoroughly recommend it two years on!

6cbca6d9

I read a book and I fell in love
With raw and real characters with
A story of heartbreak to tell
A story of brokenness
And a story of Life
And a story of both intertwined.

I waited too long
to read this.
I almost gave it
a complete miss.
But this isn’t your typical
YA contemporary.
It’s far more.

With an ‘insta-love’ I believed in.
An instant connection
A deep,
emotional, raw connection.
With characters that draw
you in.

This book
Made
Me
Cry
This book
hit
my
emotions
and
they were
sucked
into the
book
without
a thought.

I read a book and fell in love
with a reading experience
Like
No
Other.
A world of Slam poetry
opened up in vibrant colour
Vibrant emotion
Vibrant words

I read a book and fell in love
with the way it made me
think.
Littered with lyrics
Littered with quotes
That made me sink
Into fictional lives.

That made me think
“Life wants you to fight it.
Learn how to make it your own.”
That you should “Push your boundaries,
that’s what they’re there for”
And central to it all:
“Imperfections
define
perfection”

I read a book and fell in love
And I only have one thing to say
About this heartbreaking, beautiful, raw, inspiring book.

Read
It
Today.

Leave a Reply

