books i have to read in summer 2017.

I have a very surprising fact for you…I have A LOT of books on my TBR! That means my Summer TBR is also pretty large! As such, there are way too many books that I want to read, that reading all of them will be pretty much impossible. So I’ve finally narrowed my list down to the ones that I simply HAVE to read before the Summer is over. The ones that I NEED to put aside time to read!

23766634.jpg


Title:
A Court of Wings and Ruin (A Court of Thorns and Roses #3)
Author: Sarah J. Maas

This was probably my most anticipated release of 2017. I got it, started it, had deadlines, put it down for a while, and have just not had a chance to pick it back up. I got about a quarter of the way through, and was loving it, so I need to finish it soon!

 

17342701.jpg


Title:
Frozen Tides (Falling Kingdoms #4)
Author: Morgan Rhodes

This is another book that I have already started (over a year ago) and was enjoying, but had to put down because I was busy. I really want to catch up with this series, so I am hoping to read this over the summer.

 

34546137.jpg


Title:
The Hate U Give
Author: Angie Thomas

If you haven’t heard about this book, where have you been? I’ve seen it everywhere, and it sounds like such a powerful, important read, that I know I need to give it a try before the summer is up.

 

826846.jpg


Title:
The Day of the Triffids
Author: John Wyndham

I saw this book in the window of one of the second hand bookshops on my road, every day on my walk back from uni. And it stared at me from that window display. I looked up what the book was about and knew I had to read it. The next day, I planned to get it, and it had disappeared from the display. I went inside to the classic section, and there it was, tucked away in amongst all of the books. Despite that beautiful meet cute, I STILL haven’t read it!

14800526


Title:
North and South
Author: Elizabeth Gaskell

This was the top classic on my 2017 TBR, and I finally have a copy in my possession, which I’m borrowing from a friend for the summer – so that should give me enough incentive to read it, right?

 

17558151.jpg
Title:
Of Dreams and Rust (Of Metal and Wishes #2)
Author: Sarah Fine

This is the sequel to one of my most enjoyable reads of 2015 – Of Metal and Wishes, which was a steam punk retelling of Phantom of the Opera. Yes, it was as cool as it sounds. I found a hardback copy for really cheap online (after struggling to find it anywhere), so I can now continue on with the sequel!
32813450

Title: Dawn Study (Study Series #9)
Author: Maria V. Snyder

I feel like this has been a list of books that I have been waiting to read for ages and just haven’t had the time to get to. This is probably at the top of that list. Dawn Study is the final book in the Study series (AKA my favourite series ever). It came out a few months ago, and I still don’t even own a copy. I think it started with me not wanting to bring my favourite series to an end, but now it’s just become a matter of a too-large-TBR. But hopefully I will have the time to finish it over the Summer.

6cbca6d9

Have you read any of the books on this list? Which books are you desperate to read over the Summer? Let me know in the comments!

14 thoughts on “books i have to read in summer 2017.

  1. North and South is absolutely amazing. There’s also a BBC miniseries adaptation that’s fantastic and really helped me come to grips with the issues in the novel. Highly recommended!

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Yeah I stopped at Fire Study and I wasn’t interested enough in the Glass books but then I think Night Study came out and I was surprised that it was still going.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha, it is a pretty long series. The Glass books are not as good as the study ones, but I still really enjoyed them towards the end! The first three books tell a complete story in themselves though, so it still makes sense to finish at Fire Study!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

