Poetry Mini-Reviews #2

34688452
Title:
 I Am More Than A Daydream
Author: Jennae Cecelia
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Jennae Cecelia’s newest poetry collection, I Am More Than A Daydream, is so beautifully uplifting. I flew through the book, feeling so positive and motivated as soon as I had finished. I’ve picked it back up and flipped through my favourites a few times already, and I’m certain it’s a collection I’ll come back to for pick-me-ups in the future! The illustrations are also such a nice addition, and I loved how they complimented the mixture of both shorter and longer poems. Another beautiful collection from a wonderful poet.

I am the unexpected
pit stop;
one that was only intended
to last for a brief
moment so you could
catch your breath,
and refresh
before continuing on
to your destination.
You quickly learned
I am not a well-manicured shrub
trimmed daily for perfection.
I am the whole damn forest.
With 72 foot tall trees,
and flowers out-blooming the weeds.
– I Am a Forest

 


18003300.jpg
Title:
 Love and Misadventure
Author: Lang Leav
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Format: Paperback
Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I really wanted to love this whole collection. And I really did enjoy a few of the poems in it. But I found the majority of them a little tiresome to read by the end. Most of the poems fit the same rhythm, length, style and rhyming patterns, and by the end, some of the poems felt lacking in meaning to me. It’s difficult to really rate a book of poetry, because what makes it so poignant is its relatability to the reader. So I guess what I am basically saying, is that there were only a few poems that really spoke to me – those were the ones that I liked, while the rest fell a little flat.

A dusty room,
a window chair,
unseeing eyes
that gaze into
the montage of
a love affair.

A carousel
of memories,
spinning round
into a blur.

Her mind is now
a fairground ride –
she wonders if
you think of her.
– A Reverie

 


30075802.jpg

Title: The Princess Saves Herself In This One
Author: Amanda Lovelace
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Format: Paperback
Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Do you ever read a book and wonder how a person can pour so much of their soul into ink and paper, that it not only shows you, but transports you into, their pain, their victories, their mind. This is such a book. This poetry collection brought me close to tears at times, and left me smiling at the end. My heart was warmed by the many love odes to books, stories and writing, scattered throughout the poems. Most of the poems are very short (which is becoming much more of a style in current free verse poetry) and although that doesn’t always resonate with me, I felt that it really worked with this collection – I loved the presentation and formatting of some of the poems too. This was simply an utterly beautifully personal book.

over the decades,
her books became 
such a part 
of her

that 
the ink
somehow escaped
her veins

& bloomed 
her favourite
words & images onto her skin.

now
the world
would have
No doubt:

she 
was the 
pagebound
girl.
– page to skin.


Also check out: Poetry Mini-Reviews #1: Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur//Uncaged Wallflower by Jennae Cecelia//Magic with Skin On by Morgan Nikola-Wren

Leave a Reply

