March Wrap-Up | 2016

How is it already a quarter of the way through the year!!? This year is going so fast! (Although we all say that every year!)

This month was a pretty good reading month. I only managed to finish 4 books, but they were all 4 stars or above! And I’m still ahead on my goodreads reading challenge, so I’m not going to be too hard on myself. 😉

6cbca6d9

mby1
Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
Rating: 4/5
Review
This was a very beautifully told story, with some very relevant and important topics discussed. The characters were beautiful, the story was beautiful – it was just beautiful! I didn’t love it as much as everyone else seems to though, and I did have a few issues with feeling a bit of an emotional disconnect from the book – although this may have been because of all of the work and deadlines I had at the time I was reading it. My mind was just not as on the book as it was on my work!

12674158_1181971671813576_1143521823_n
Falling Kingdoms (Falling Kingdoms #1) by Morgan Rhodes
Rating: 4.5/5
Review
I loved this start to what promises to be a very epic, intricate, fun, emotional fantasy series. I loved the characters, and I loved the set up that this book laid out for the relationships and story-lines to come. I did think it was a little too fast-paced, but I think that was probably to get the story rolling to the point where the larger story can begin.

 

12935402_1191780410832702_1484795004_n.jpg
A Gathering of Shadows (A Darker Shade of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab
Rating: 4/5
V.E. Schwab blows me away with every book she writes. Her writing style is always gripping and detailed, and her stories are always engrossing, intricate and epic. This wasn’t my favourite of her books though, and I did find some plot points a bit predictable. A Darker Shade of Magic (book 1) will probably always be my favourite of her books, but AGOS was still such a brilliant story, and V.E Schwab is still certainly one of my top favourite authors!

12935264_1191780494166027_815201498_n
GREY by Christi J. Whitney
Rating: 5/5
Review
This book was so good, and so different from lots of the YA books I’ve read. It’s got gypsies, old legends, family feuds…what more can you want? I thoroughly enjoyed it am super excited for the sequel, which is coming out this Summer!

 

 

6cbca6d9

How has your reading gone this month? How many books have you managed to finish? What was your favourite? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

5 thoughts on “March Wrap-Up | 2016

  1. I read 4 books this month and they were really great. I can’t wait for the Me Before You movie! I haven’t read the book yet and I think I’ll just watch the movie because I have too many books I wanna read other than that one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment